Louisiana recently changed its system for label registration, and all labels previously registered with the state must be re-registered in the new system by the end of 2015.
Louisiana is one of many states that requires label registration before alcoholic beverages can be sold in the state. Until recently, Louisiana’s Department of Health and Hospitals handled the registration process, but as of August 2015, the label registration function is being handled by Louisiana Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC), the state’s alcohol beverage regulatory agency. The move should create a more efficient registration system, and allows the same agency that enforces alcoholic beverage laws to oversee the label registration process, which is consistent with how registration works in nearly all other states that have a registration requirement.
Labels must now be renewed annually, and all labels currently registered in the state must be updated with the ATC by December 31, 2015. Importantly, label registration can be completed online here. When a licensee with a valid Louisiana license number submits a label with an approved Certificate of Label Approval (COLA), the registration process is complete with no need to wait for further approval. Additionally, the price to register labels has been reduced from $27 per label to $5 per label.
Call one of the attorneys at Strike & Techel if you have any questions about label registration in Louisiana or other states.
Browse posts by category: